One Summer Night – The Danleers

“One Summer Night” is a popular song recorded by the American doo-wop group, The Danleers. It was released in 1958 and became their most well-known and successful hit. The song was written by Danny Webb and produced by the group’s manager, William L. Smith.

The Danleers were a vocal quintet hailing from Brooklyn, New York. They formed in the mid-1950s and were known for their harmonious vocal arrangements and smooth style. “One Summer Night” was their debut single and quickly garnered attention, reaching number four on the Billboard Hot 100 chart in 1958.

The song captures the essence of a summer romance, with its romantic and nostalgic lyrics. The lead vocalist of The Danleers, Jimmy Weston, delivers a heartfelt performance, backed by the group’s harmonies. The song is notable for its catchy melody and doo-wop style, which was popular during that era.

“One Summer Night” remains an enduring classic of the doo-wop genre, and The Danleers’ rendition continues to be enjoyed by music enthusiasts. It has been covered by various artists over the years, further solidifying its place in music history.

Despite their initial success with “One Summer Night,” The Danleers struggled to replicate its commercial achievement with subsequent releases. They disbanded in the early 1960s, but their signature hit continues to be celebrated as a timeless gem from the golden era of doo-wop music.

What did you think? Please tell us in the comment section below and remember to sign up for our free newsletter.